Throttle cable/gas pedal issues - holley on a 318

Fuel and Air Systems

  1. VSTwister

    VSTwister Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    61
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Location:
    Columbiana, Ohio
    Local Time:
    4:54 AM
    I have a problem that seems to be unique in my online searching on the topic. I removed my factory 2bbl intake and Carter BBD carb some time ago and replaced it with a Weiand Stealth and Holley 1850 4bbl setup. (318/904 Scamp) Aside from the typical issues of the auto kickdown and throttle cables (of which I'm already researching Lokar and Bouchillon for and seems fine for the common problems of this conversion) I have a problem with the gas pedal meeting the floor before I get to full wide open throttle on the Holley. I have just a wee bit more to go to get true WOT. The throttle cable itself has enough travel, it's just the ratio between the gas pedal travel and the carb throttle lever travel.

    As I see it, my only option is to modify (bend) the linkage on the gas pedal to get more travel. But this doesn't seem right that I have to do this and I've not found anyone else with this problem. It seems it should be adjustable all in the carb/throttle linkage. It wouldn't be easy to bend the gas pedal lever just the right amount as I could go too far and then run out of cable before having the pedal to the medal. This will just cause stress on the cable and eventually break it, probably right at the end where the ball attaches to the pedal lever.

    So has anyone else had this problem? Is there another factory gas pedal I should try? There's no reason to assume my gas pedal has been replaced with an incorrect version, but I've had weirder things happen. It bolts up right to the floor and looks correct. How does everyone else set the range correctly from idle to WOT? The way I see it, you have to have more travel in your gas pedal and throttle cable than the carb lever has for proper function.

    Thanks
     
  2. '64 Cuda

    '64 Cuda Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,671
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Location:
    South East South Dakota
    Local Time:
    3:54 AM
    There is a throttle arm that bolts to a Holley carb to connect it with the Chrysler throttle cable. Do you have it on your carb? It's something that is sold seperate from the carb. Summit's part # is HLY-20-7. I have a catalog from February & the price is $7.88. Might be a bit more now. It changes the mounting point for the cable to better match the leverage ratio of the Chrysler throttle. It also has a hole to bolt on an attachment for the kickdown linkage.
     
  3. VSTwister

    VSTwister Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    61
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Location:
    Columbiana, Ohio
    Local Time:
    4:54 AM
    Ah sorry, forgot to mention that yes...I do have the 20-7. That helped get it a lot closer than without it of course, but it's still not quite right. Plus it only has one hole in it...is there supposed to be another hole for the kickdown hookup? I was not aware of this. Mine only has three holes in the entire adapter. Two for mounting to the carb lever, and one for the throttle and I assumed everything else.

    Unless the carb is not meant to open to a hard stop WOT, then something is not matching up. It just has to go a little bit more. And when I push it manually that last bit, the butterflies open a little more to the vertical position and the pump shooter drips out a few more drops of fuel. Seems to me it should go but I'm out of adjustments up in the carb area. That's what's leading me to the gas pedal side of things but I've not heard of anyone else having to do modify their factory original gas pedal setup.
     
  4. '64 Cuda

    '64 Cuda Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,671
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Location:
    South East South Dakota
    Local Time:
    3:54 AM
    You're right. There is only one hole. Sorry, the last time I used one of those brackets was about 25 years ago & then somebody stole it. I assume you've already tried moving the cable a bit in the throttle cable bracket? Maybe you could try removing some of the carpet insulation under the pedal to give it more travel?
     
  5. Dusterb318

    Dusterb318 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Local Time:
    4:54 AM
    Yep...had the same problem with mine. No matter how I adjusted the linkage there was not enough pedal travel for the car to idle right or go full throttle. I fixed mine by pulling the carpet back some and putting some aluminum shims under the bracket that mounts the pedal to the floor pan thus increasing the amount of travel. Once I got the shim thickness right I drilled a hole and put a sheet metal screw through them to hold them in place.....put the carpet back up and you'd never know what was done. I tried the V8 cable and the /6 cable and even the loakr cut to fit would have had the same problem......not enough pedal travel. Here is a pic of my carb throttle bracket....as you can see I have an almost infinte amount of adjustments that can be made.

    P8020010.jpg

    If I adjusted the cable so the engine would idle clean and at the right RPM then it wouldn't go to full throttle......if I adjusted it so it would go full throttle then it would idle at 1500RPM......(normal is 850) Took me a couple days of head scratching on what I could do to fix the problem.....like I said I swapped throttle cables and everything.....shimming the pedal to get more travel was the only answer.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Dusterb318

    Dusterb318 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Local Time:
    4:54 AM
    I can get pics of my shims tonight if you want?
     
  7. VSTwister

    VSTwister Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    61
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Location:
    Columbiana, Ohio
    Local Time:
    4:54 AM
    Sure, anything would help to see how to fix this. I thought of shims too, but figured it would just effectively shorten the cable, not fix the amount of travel problem. But if it worked for you, then that's great.

    Thanks!
     
  8. #1dartman

    #1dartman New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Location:
    Daytona Beach, Florida
    Local Time:
    4:54 AM
    Ran into same here too. I am getting the holley adapter from Mancini or summit or jegs. It's all about price with me. Retiree Budget. I am sure tha "little extra" prob.' will be the carpet. I've already figured and solved problem with Isosceles style pedal shim's. Being able t do it correctly now is reassuring. Thanks for you're post's being there for when I needed it. I had this thing tuned to 8.81's in the eighth on 60% throttle use. Can't wait for this! Later, DartMan.
     
  9. Dubob

    Dubob Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    490
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    Local Time:
    4:54 AM
    Bouchillons kit comes with an adapter that will set the ratio of throttle movement to trans movement. I just spent some time this week end setting up my 440.I used their throttle cable adapter. But the adapter on the carb may have a different ratio of movement than the Holley one does. If you go to their web site and look up the cable kit there is also a link for instructions. Yes they do come with the kit but it'll give you an idea of what it takes to install.
     
  10. SwingerMan

    SwingerMan Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Location:
    Seabrook, TX
    Local Time:
    3:54 AM
    Sorry to dig up an old thread but I've been having the same issue with my Bouchillon setup. Mines on a 4150 using it their complete throttle bracket and kickodwn on my W2 408.

    No matter how much I've adjusted it I can't get it to go WOT. I was so frustrated with it that I bought an ARE Engineering throttle bracket that uses the Lokar kickodwn. Haven't got around to swapping.

    Is the consensus still to shim the throttle pedal? Seems like a band aid but if it works. Don't want to go through the hassle of swapping to the ARE setup and still have the same issue.
     
  11. toolmanmike

    toolmanmike FABO MODERATOR Staff Member FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    48,582
    Likes Received:
    33225
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Location:
    Iowa
    Local Time:
    3:54 AM
  12. SwingerMan

    SwingerMan Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Location:
    Seabrook, TX
    Local Time:
    3:54 AM
    Thanks I appreciate it.
     
  13. krazykuda

    krazykuda Well-Known Member FABO Gold Member How-To Section Editor

    Messages:
    52,513
    Likes Received:
    17371
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Location:
    Orland Park, IL
    Local Time:
    3:54 AM
    You need the correct Holley Chrysler throttle bracket adapter, then it goes like this:

    Here's a link to the Holley throttle bracket:

    Holley Throttle Lever Extension


    Here's the pictures on how to set it up:

    DSC04371 B.jpg

    DSC04374 B.jpg

    DSC04905 B.jpg

    DSC04906 B.jpg

    DSC04970 B.jpg

    DSC04974 B.jpg
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • toolmanmike

      toolmanmike FABO MODERATOR Staff Member FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      48,582
      Likes Received:
      33225
      Joined:
      Jan 18, 2006
      Location:
      Iowa
      Local Time:
      3:54 AM
      Nicely done Carl.
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • SwingerMan

        SwingerMan Well-Known Member

        Messages:
        318
        Likes Received:
        18
        Joined:
        Jan 3, 2006
        Location:
        Seabrook, TX
        Local Time:
        3:54 AM
        I am using the adapter that comes with the Bouchillon setup. I have the Mopar Holley adapter as well but it is not used with this kit. [​IMG]
        [​IMG]
         
        Last edited: Sep 6, 2016
      • krazykuda

        krazykuda Well-Known Member FABO Gold Member How-To Section Editor

        Messages:
        52,513
        Likes Received:
        17371
        Joined:
        Aug 20, 2007
        Location:
        Orland Park, IL
        Local Time:
        3:54 AM
        With my set-up, you can use the stock 340 throttle bracket and then use the stock kickdown linkage. You just have to lengthen it 1 1/2 - 2" and it will work...
         
        • Like Like x 1
        • 318willrun

          318willrun Utube channel 318willrun

          Messages:
          14,086
          Likes Received:
          14514
          Joined:
          Sep 13, 2013
          Location:
          I'm here
          Local Time:
          3:54 AM
          He is a hillbilly riggin job I have done lot's of times. It's virtually free and has always worked issue free.... sorry it's a little fuzzy, but you can get the point. :)

           
        1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
          By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.