hotrod swinger

Reaction score
1966 Plymouth Valiant 225

Rebuilt engine
Confirmed TDC by watching valves
Plugs in correct firing order
Distributor set 10 BTDC
Petronix kit instead of points

I can start and run the engine with the choke on and high idle.

Once I reduce idle and/or open the choke the engine dies, usually with a spit out of the carb, sometimes flames.

The engine will not idle below 1500 rpm.

This is my first time starting a rebuilt engine by myself so I’m possibly missing something obvious.

I would be willing to bet that the ignition timing is retarded. I know that it seems that you did your homework on the timing, but it sure seems as the timing is off. Just try advancing the distributor a bit and see what it does. From there the only other thing I can think of is that you have a vacuum leak somewhere. Check all your vacuum hoses. Does not seem to be fuel related, but you never know. Could the idle mixture screws be completely closed?

I would be willing to bet that the ignition timing is retarded. I know that it seems that you did your homework on the timing, but it sure seems as the timing is off. Just try advancing the distributor a bit and see what it does. From there the only other thing I can think of is that you have a vacuum leak somewhere. Check all your vacuum hoses. Does not seem to be fuel related, but you never know. Could the idle mixture screws be completely closed?

Vacuum lines on carb are all plugged, I haven’t hooked up vacuum advance or power brakes yet.

Idle mixture screws are 1.5 turns out.

I wanted to try advancing my timing more but I am up against the slot on the distributor so I’ll need to adjust the bolt under the distributor, I haven’t tried that yet.

Backfire through the carb is usually retarded timing as stated above. 65'

Vacuum lines on carb are all plugged, I haven’t hooked up vacuum advance or power brakes yet.