Welded combustion chambers?

-
Status
Not open for further replies.

derrangedgadgeteer

Reaction score
I was doing some looking for some ideas on what to do with a set of 360 smog heads I picked up at the junkyard, and since my car's a 318, and using them would kill my compression without a piston swap, I was considering doing a ton of port work to them, and brazing the combustion chambers up into a closed chamber configuration.

I figured I'd add material to the intake side, and leave just enough room to keep the valves unshrouded, and then fill in on the exhaust side until just before I get to the spark plug. I'd be trying to emulate the modern Cardioid shape combustion chambers with it.

I've heard of others reccomending spray welding for this sort of thing, but I've also been told of many, many people who have brazed up the chambers without trouble, (in fact, I've never heard of someone having a problem with brazed chambers)

I'm studying welding at school, and the class on oxy-fuel welding and brazing is coming up shortly, I figured I wouldn't embark on this project until I'm jolly well sure I'm ready to do it, but I'm looking for one thing in particular:

Does anyone have pictures of welded or brazed heads? and in particular, Before and after pics? I've been all over google trying to find such pictures, and I've had no luck. :violent1:.

And has anyone here done this, or had it done, or know someone who has done this or had it done? and what kind of results did you get?

This head, in the end, will probably be in the dartness, An effort to perk up the little 318 that's got stock heads and cam right now. It might or might not be followed up with a cam, but definitely not right away.

The general idea......is to CC' each combustion chamber.

Then......figure out how many CC's you want to reduce.

Then get some material.....(like .05$ Nickels) and weld the same amount into each chamber, and RE-CC' your chambers until you get the desired CC volume.