Welding a back brace on a 8 3/4, any advice??

-

flyfish

C8H18+N2O = :-D
Reaction score
I’m about to try welding a back brace on my 8 ¾ and I need some advice. I’ve done some reading, and most folks agree that the right way to do it is to use a jig to keep it from warping the housing. Well….I’m a backyard mechanic, so I don’t have a jig…but this was my thought.

What if I tack weld a piece of angle iron on the opposite side of the housing from the back brace, and leave my axles and spool installed…would this be enough to keep the housing fairly strait if I space my welds (to not build too much heat) and work my way slowly around welding the brace?

Also, dose the brace need to be fully welded all the way around?

Any and all advice is appreciated,
Thanks in advance

Edit: Forgot to add...and when finished (obviously) cut the angle iron brace off the front.

I could be slam wrong on this, because it is something I have never done. BUT, I know welding and I know as long as you weld in small sections at a time, you are less likely to warp anything. I'd weld like 1" sections at the time maybe letting it cool a bit every other weld and I bet you'll be fine.

Well, this is what i did, be it right, wrong or indifferent. I took jack stands and placed them on my work table. I laid the housing face down on the stands (one one each axle tube and then one in the opening of the housing) and used ratchet straps to secure it from the very ends so as not to burn them when welding. I then proceeded to weld the brace on using very short bursts and moving from spot to spot. I continued stitch welding it until I had it welded solid. If you spend too much time in one spot it will start making a popping sound, if/when it does move to a different area.

As you're welding it will more than likely want to pull the axle tubes back as it gets hot, that's why I did it the way I did.