What kind of brake calipers on my ‘71 Duster 340?

-

Hiduster

Reaction score
Can someone help me identify what brake calipers are on my ‘71 Duster 340? I’m new to mopars and the NAPA clerk said I should have a 4 piston calipers. The the calipers sure don’t look like 4 piston calipers. I need to identify them so I can replace them. The car was sitting for several years. Any help will be appreciated.
1E6E4A7F-4A73-4A34-A83C-0F2E091CC13B.jpeg
6B449EA2-0C23-46C2-A0FF-8A313F395935.jpeg
A0C316FA-D4E1-4EBF-A770-2985DD863365.jpeg

Your lucky, the single piston stuff is easier to get parts for, the parts are much cheaper & they work great... Also they should have the larger 5x4.5 bolt pattern vs the original 5x4 bolt pattern.... Might want to figure out if the rear axle is also the 5x4.5 pattern

Are the pistons seizing? If the pistons retract easily and apply without sticking, I would clean all moving surfaces with a file to get rust off and lube all sliding surfaces with a disc brake grease. This will not get hard later. Dielectric grease is one option. Check the pads for even wear. Use a sanding disc with 120 grit emery while lightly sanding the disc surfaces with the calipers off. Helps if a friend can turn the disc to evenly sand the rust off. Then bleed the brakes to get the moisture infused brake fluid out.
Any sign of the piston seizing is definately grounds to replace them. Those were a very common caliper used by Ma Mopar in the '70's.
At this time it is also probably wise considering it sat for a few years to replace the brake hoses front and rear just to be on the safe side. The cloth weave in the hose can deteriorate over time and they will fail. Any cracks in the outer rubber are a sign they need to be replaced.