Which alt to use ?

Electrical and Ignition

  1. A Body 440 WHY NOT

    A Body 440 WHY NOT Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    112
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2019
    Location:
    Jersey
    Local Time:
    7:05 AM
    Hi all,
    Working on my 440 69 dart project. Getting to the altenator . I am not interested in a external regulator or originality. I am thinking about a GM 2 wire alt. I would imaging you could just not use the one wire that goes to the warning light ? Other wire goes to batt. And output naturally goes to batt. Anybody mount one of these , or is there a better way.
    thanks :thumbsup:
     
  2. Mattax

    Mattax Just the facts, ma'am FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    7126
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Location:
    Phila. Pa
    Local Time:
    10:05 AM
    The simplest wiring to understand and the most straight forward install will be a Chrysler with a one insulated field terminal, and a positive controlling regulator.
    A later Chrysler with two insulated brushes will fit and work the same if one is grounded.
    If the car will need more electric power (ie EFI, electric fans, etc) then look at the 'Denso' alternator setups AndyF has made brackets for. Wire to use the matching regulator. Increase the alternator and battery output wires sizes to match the demand ((ie EFI, electric fans) and the possibility of higher battery recharge currents.
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2020
  3. Oldmanmopar

    Oldmanmopar Going left turning right FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    8,998
    Likes Received:
    5457
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    Danielsville Pa. 18038
    Local Time:
    10:05 AM
    Get a one wire GM . The best you'll ever buy. I run a 100 amp one wire . Shut it off before entering the water box and turn it on after the traps.

    Steve 105.JPG
     
  4. dano

    dano Evil Handy Man

    Messages:
    3,502
    Likes Received:
    1389
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gresham, Oregon
    Local Time:
    7:05 AM
    I went the Denso rout. Smaller, lighter cleaner looking and no external regulator. It documented on how to wire and they are easy to come by. I really like the Ford 3G alternators too.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • DrEamer

      DrEamer I suffer from cars on the brain!

      Messages:
      454
      Likes Received:
      590
      Joined:
      Mar 9, 2019
      Location:
      Oregon
      Local Time:
      7:05 AM
      Powermaster makes one wire stock alternators, or the newer Denso depending on how many amps you want to run.
       
      Last edited: Sep 15, 2020
      • Like Like x 1
      • Kendog 170

        Kendog 170 Let the boy go !

        Messages:
        1,649
        Likes Received:
        1069
        Joined:
        Mar 10, 2016
        Location:
        Tewksbury Ma.
        Local Time:
        10:05 AM
        I went the Denso route too. Stock brackets , just make new spacers. (Pic is not mine) Internal regulator. 1 wire output, 1 wire sensor wire, 1 wire warning light.

        Denso.jpg
         
        • Like Like x 2
        • Kendog 170

          Kendog 170 Let the boy go !

          Messages:
          1,649
          Likes Received:
          1069
          Joined:
          Mar 10, 2016
          Location:
          Tewksbury Ma.
          Local Time:
          10:05 AM
          Better pic (440) Mancini has kits also.

          ar-denso.jpg
           
          • Agree Agree x 1
          • Mike69cuda

            Mike69cuda 64 is the new 17 FABO Gold Member

            Messages:
            1,988
            Likes Received:
            1548
            Joined:
            Jan 2, 2018
            Location:
            Overland Park Kansas
            Local Time:
            9:05 AM
            Hey OMM, There was a discussion on this awhile back. The GM alternator you are using has just one and only one wire going to it?
             
          • Kendog 170

            Kendog 170 Let the boy go !

            Messages:
            1,649
            Likes Received:
            1069
            Joined:
            Mar 10, 2016
            Location:
            Tewksbury Ma.
            Local Time:
            10:05 AM
            You can use one wire with the Denso but you have options. 1- a warning lamp. 2- The sensor wire can ease back on charging if no charge is needed.
             
          • Kendog 170

            Kendog 170 Let the boy go !

            Messages:
            1,649
            Likes Received:
            1069
            Joined:
            Mar 10, 2016
            Location:
            Tewksbury Ma.
            Local Time:
            10:05 AM
            • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
            • Kendog 170

              Kendog 170 Let the boy go !

              Messages:
              1,649
              Likes Received:
              1069
              Joined:
              Mar 10, 2016
              Location:
              Tewksbury Ma.
              Local Time:
              10:05 AM
              • Like Like x 1
              • 67Dart273

                67Dart273 FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

                Messages:
                46,499
                Likes Received:
                14339
                Joined:
                Oct 14, 2010
                Location:
                Idaho
                Local Time:
                7:05 AM
                I dislike "one wire" for several reasons. They are more difficult to deal with with trunk mount batteries. Some of them don't excite until they are "revved" above a certain shaft RPM. And they require MUCH larger charge wires for proper operation, because the "one" wire IS the sense wire

                Older GM 2 wire: Be careful. You cannot simply apply key-switched power to the excitation on the older one. This is the lamp circuit and you need at least a diode. It may work for awhile but "one day" conditions will happen that the diode trio will blow up because there is no isolation. Other than that, they worked fine

                I prefer external regulator for ease of troubleshooting, but that is my preference. You must make sure the VR is grounded to "same as" battery and little drop in harness for proper charge voltage. Same for "3 wire" integral regulator.
                 
                • Like Like x 1
                • Agree Agree x 1
                • A Body 440 WHY NOT

                  A Body 440 WHY NOT Well-Known Member

                  Messages:
                  301
                  Likes Received:
                  112
                  Joined:
                  Sep 28, 2019
                  Location:
                  Jersey
                  Local Time:
                  7:05 AM
                • A Body 440 WHY NOT

                  A Body 440 WHY NOT Well-Known Member

                  Messages:
                  301
                  Likes Received:
                  112
                  Joined:
                  Sep 28, 2019
                  Location:
                  Jersey
                  Local Time:
                  7:05 AM
                  Thanks everyone !
                   
                • DrCharles

                  DrCharles Well-Known Member

                  Messages:
                  1,125
                  Likes Received:
                  908
                  Joined:
                  Jun 7, 2012
                  Location:
                  West Plains, Mo.
                  Local Time:
                  9:05 AM
                  Don't tell anyone, but I have a CS-130 (2-wire GM alt) on my Dart. It puts out more than enough even at idle to run everything electrical with room to spare (headlights, fuel pump, electronic ignition, heater fan, and 40 amps for the Contour fans on full).
                  Got it for $20 at a swapmeet, figured it was a core, Autozone tested it for free and everything met spec :)
                  DSCF0178.JPG
                   
                • famous bob

                  famous bob mopar misfit

                  Messages:
                  18,346
                  Likes Received:
                  7729
                  Joined:
                  Aug 14, 2011
                  Location:
                  okla
                  Local Time:
                  9:05 AM
                  I run the same one , mounted down where the fuel pump would normally be ---------under the motor plate , and home made alum. brackets and adjustment rod.
                  Lines up perfectly w/ the stock single belt big block pulleys , back of water pump milled the thickness of the motor plate .
                   
                  • Like Like x 1
                  • plymouth4onthefloor

                    plymouth4onthefloor FABO Gold Member FABO Gold Member

                    Messages:
                    145
                    Likes Received:
                    95
                    Joined:
                    Dec 1, 2017
                    Location:
                    Switzerland
                    Local Time:
                    4:05 PM
                    I run the Powermaster 80A Mopar style in my Satellite, troublefree. I have to use a high Amp alternator because my fan draws 50A!
                    Please increase wire diameter if you run high amps.
                    By the way, i love the Mopar look......
                     
                  • Oldmanmopar

                    Oldmanmopar Going left turning right FABO Gold Member

                    Messages:
                    8,998
                    Likes Received:
                    5457
                    Joined:
                    Jan 8, 2009
                    Location:
                    Danielsville Pa. 18038
                    Local Time:
                    10:05 AM
                    Yes only one wire that goes directly to the battery. On my car it goes to a remote battery connection. "Positive bulk head bought at Deka Battery". My battery is in the trunk an the bulk head is the connection for positive battery under the hood. The first picture the black wire is the only wire needed for alternator. The second picture you can see a solenoid wired in to shut the alternator off. I had to do this because I kept throwing the belt over 8000 RPM's

                    DSCF0167.JPG

                    Steve 101.JPG
                     
                    • Like Like x 1
                    • Thanks! Thanks! x 1
                    • Dfr360cuda

                      Dfr360cuda MAGA Again

                      Messages:
                      1,636
                      Likes Received:
                      1049
                      Joined:
                      Aug 30, 2012
                      Location:
                      Finleyville, PA
                      Local Time:
                      10:05 AM
                      ...................
                      You have a big block... Me too
                      You have a motor plate... Me too
                      You have an aftermarket alternator setup... Not yet
                       
                    • famous bob

                      famous bob mopar misfit

                      Messages:
                      18,346
                      Likes Received:
                      7729
                      Joined:
                      Aug 14, 2011
                      Location:
                      okla
                      Local Time:
                      9:05 AM
                      I have a pic , but darned if I can bring it up !
                       
                    1. This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
                      By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.