Wire terminal Insulator questions

-

SlantedMark4

'74 Valiant 225 /6
FABO Gold Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, it's me again.

Most of my cables in my '74 Valiant have large cable insulation at the connectors / terminals. I'm not quite sure if it's actually insulation, as well as some sort of fusible link? I was just wondering what it's actually for and why it's so thick (I'm new to this electrical stuff and wanna learn more about it). What do I have to consider if I have to replace such a terminal? I'm thinking about "restoring" some sections in my wire harness.
I'm sorry if this was already asked earlier, if so just hit me up :)

IMG_20221228_122526.jpg

IMG_20221216_232439 (1).jpg

IMG_20230112_063054.jpg

That's just a block of plastic to seal the wire to the terminal end.

You can use the new Yellow crimp-ons and seal them with some black RTV gasket maker.

That's just a block of plastic to seal the wire to the terminal end.

You can use the new Yellow crimp-ons and seal them with some black RTV gasket maker.
Thank you for your help. Is it also an option to go with an insulation tape or do I really need an RTV gasket maker?

just use bare crimp on connectors and heat shrink looks a lot cleaner than the insulated ones and works as intended.

IMHO...

Tape will not provide any tight seal against the elements.

If you wanted to go a step beyond, you could make a small box out of Legos (bear with me) coat the inside with some vasoline, put the over mold end into the box and fill with black RTV.

after it has cured you will have a tight seal and an almost stock look.

PXL_20230131_221556333.jpg

Some blocks removed for clarity.

Some hole drilling and slots will need to be made in the Legos (so be sure your kids are on board)

PXL_20230131_221915800.jpg

Sorry Gerorge. Have to disagree with you on that one.