Wires to alternator

Discussion in 'Electrical and Ignition' started by 70dart318, Apr 15, 2018.

  1. 70dart318

    70dart318 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Location:
    Nv
    Local Time:
    10:54 PM
    F5FB77C8-E310-417B-959A-C4E4C856202A.jpeg 287BBC0F-9883-4199-959A-D51207651AD5.jpeg So I didn’t wanna do this wrong so I figured I’d ask on here. I know the temp wire goes on the intake and where the field wires go on alternator. But wanted to be sure were to connect the wire with the eyelet, to the stud circled 1 or 2? Here’s a pic of my wires and back of alternator. Thanks!
     
  2. halifaxhops

    halifaxhops It's going to get stupid around here! FABO Gold Member

    Messages:
    43,738
    Likes Received:
    12545
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Location:
    CENTRURAL, PA
    View My Photos
    Local Time:
    2:54 AM
    #2 the other is a case stud.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Lelo Dart

      Lelo Dart *

      Messages:
      1,297
      Likes Received:
      312
      Joined:
      Oct 10, 2012
      Location:
      Knob Noster MO.
      Local Time:
      12:54 AM
      #2 gets the eyelet wire.
      #1 can be used as a ground if needed.
       
    • 70dart318

      70dart318 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      82
      Likes Received:
      3
      Joined:
      Aug 15, 2016
      Location:
      Nv
      Local Time:
      10:54 PM
      Thanks for the replies! Not to ask a dumb question but do I need to run a ground wire to 1 or not?
       
    • Mattax

      Mattax Just the facts, ma'am FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      3,071
      Likes Received:
      1405
      Joined:
      Feb 7, 2013
      Location:
      Phila. Pa
      Local Time:
      1:54 AM
      What year is the car?
      or more to the point
      Does your regulator control the field ground or the field positive?

      If it controls ground, it will have two wires to the alternator and the answer is no. You could just use it as extra ground.
      If the regulator controls the positive, then the field's output terminal needs to connect to ground.
       
    • 70dart318

      70dart318 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      82
      Likes Received:
      3
      Joined:
      Aug 15, 2016
      Location:
      Nv
      Local Time:
      10:54 PM
      I have 2 field wires going to the alternator so I take it what I have is the regulator controls the field ground. So I’m good with just that then?
       
    • Mattax

      Mattax Just the facts, ma'am FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      3,071
      Likes Received:
      1405
      Joined:
      Feb 7, 2013
      Location:
      Phila. Pa
      Local Time:
      1:54 AM
      Yes. Looking back - I see what appears to be the green field wire in your hand- that's the one that is grounded by the regulator as needed to let the current run through the field windings. Field windings = electromagnet
       
    • MAPS

      MAPS Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      279
      Likes Received:
      60
      Joined:
      Nov 1, 2015
      Location:
      canada
      View My Photos
      Local Time:
      1:54 AM
      Oki have somewhat the same problem here..my alternator had only one wire going to it but I also have Green wire that I saw that runs right with it but had been turned beck and just left to sit open by the intake. It's not an open end wirebut with a small attachment that is the type that snap into a connection.
      Is this the ground that I need to place somewhere.cause I sometimes have to jump start my car and thought we have alternator problems but the alternator was looked at and it's working well.
      Thanks for ANY HELP, IDEAS....

      MAPS
       
    • 70aarcuda

      70aarcuda Master Hoader of SBM FABO Gold Member

      Messages:
      13,556
      Likes Received:
      1583
      Joined:
      Jan 16, 2005
      Location:
      las vegas
      View My Photos
      Local Time:
      10:54 PM
      picture I think,,,,nope click on pdf
       

      Attached Files:

    • MAPS

      MAPS Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      279
      Likes Received:
      60
      Joined:
      Nov 1, 2015
      Location:
      canada
      View My Photos
      Local Time:
      1:54 AM


      Thanks for that, butt believe it or not, Im real stupid lol What I want to do is send in a pic if I can to show you what I mean about this Green Wire. .This green wires seems to run along this black wire that goes to the alternator but all of a sudden if it is turned back and goes and sits on the intake. I will (@ work presently) I will try to instill a pic or 2 tomorrow and show you what I am talking about. Also, I will take a much better look to see where the Green wire starts to come from...

      As Always Truly grateful and indebted to the members here that are ever so helpful with novices as myself.
      Its too bad that some owners (like myself) are in worse shape than their 50 yr old cars...lol

      Sincerely and Still..
      MAPS
       
    • 67Dart273

      67Dart273 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      37,365
      Likes Received:
      5115
      Joined:
      Oct 14, 2010
      Location:
      Idaho
      View My Photos
      Local Time:
      10:54 PM
      Tried to answer your other thread. Your car DOES NOT have the typical Mopar alternator. May be an "import" or it may just be a Delco swap
       
    • MAPS

      MAPS Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      279
      Likes Received:
      60
      Joined:
      Nov 1, 2015
      Location:
      canada
      View My Photos
      Local Time:
      1:54 AM
      SO WHAT DO I DO WITH THAT GREEN WIRE JUST LEAVE IT LIKE THAT ?

      THANKS.
      MAPS
       
    • 67Dart273

      67Dart273 Well-Known Member

      Messages:
      37,365
      Likes Received:
      5115
      Joined:
      Oct 14, 2010
      Location:
      Idaho
      View My Photos
      Local Time:
      10:54 PM
      I'm guessing that you have a Delco "one wire" which does not need a field wire. IF that is the case then leave the green as is. Does it work? "as is?"