yup...another new guy

-

pharmboy

Reaction score
Howdy everybody,

I just wanted to introduce myself. I'm new to the A-Body community. Well, it all started as a result of my job. I'm an engineer in the pharmaceutical business, and as a result, I get to travel...a lot. I was told I had a job starting in February in Portland, OR (I'm from central Indiana), and that it would last a year, maybe 18 months. So, I figured rather than take my truck (01 Dodge Ram SLT) across the rockies in the middle of winter, I'd just buy a car in Portland, and then I'd have some wheels in both places.

So, I went to Craigslist, and happened across a fairly clean-looking 1968 Dart 2 Door post with a slant six for a very reasonable price (sounded like a fun daily driver). There were some negotiations, and I made a down payment to the owner via Paypal. Well, two days before the start date on the project, my boss calls and tells me it's not happening. So, I wind up flying to Portland for one day to pick up the car and put it in storage. After several months, realizing I'd never actually get to Portland, I made arrangements to have it shipped to Indiana, while I was working in Rochester, NY.

It finally arrived, in one piece, and turned out to be very fun to drive...aside from the complete lack of soft parts in the front suspension, the very sticky choke, non-functioning gas gauge and cracked windshield. Well, after having some electrical issues, I had to get it towed to my mechanic, who informed me the electrical problem was a simple matter of unseen corrosion. Also, at the insistance of my family, I told him to take a look at the brakes. A week later, I get a call informing me that the front suspension needed a complete rebuild, and the brakes were also shot.