1974 Dart Swinger Build

-

74Dart318

Reaction score
I started a restoration thread back in 2009 I believe. I still have the dart and it was basically my daily driver up until last May. I graduated college and was lucky enough to land a job. I purchased a 1984 BMW 325e for a daily driver so I can work on the Dart. I ended up doing a few things on the BMW before I could trust it; radiator, timing belt, drive belts, thermostat, hoses, tires, brakes, etc.

I got a house with a garage so now I am going to finally start rebuilding the Dart.. about time right? I thought so too. The way it sits right now it is mostly stock with ~213k miles. So here is the plan for now:

• Rebuild the 318 and build it up. Using some rebuilt 360 heads, air gap eddy manifold, probably some kb167 pistons.
  • Clean up the 727 and probably get a new torque converter. Eventually would like to do a 4 speed swap.. I have a thing for 3 pedals.
  • Rebuild the rear end. I believe it is a 8 1/4 and I would like to make it a sure grip. I don't think the rear end has ever had any work done to it.
  • Upgrading the suspension is a must. Probably a mix of things from Hotchkis and Firm Feel to go with the Hellwig sway bars already on it.
  • There is also some trunk work needed, the bottom of the trunk for the spare is a little rotted.

The goal is to make a nice running street car that I can take to SCCA for fun sometimes.

Any suggestions or comments are of course welcome. I will try to keep updates and pictures as they come. Here are some photos from today in the garage.

Attachments

• dart1.jpg
    39.4 KB · Views: 335
  • dart2.jpg
    25.9 KB · Views: 310
  • dart3.jpg
    39.9 KB · Views: 311
  • dart4.jpg
    37.4 KB · Views: 320
Looks like a great starting point. But if you wanna third pedal then just plan for one. Why put money in a trans you don't want. Good luck and keep us posted.