360 Cam Advice.

-

Ben A...

Reaction score
Hey there,
First, I'm new to this so I need guidance. Second, if cam recommendation posts are pesky then let me know and I'll delete this! I read quite a few on here, but I'm worried I'll pick a cam that will require a bunch of other modifications to the setup for it to work properly.

I'm rebuilding my first car engine (LA360) and I've reached out to Comp Cams for advice on best cam choice, but I've been given a few options (my fault, I requested a couple times). I'm curious to know what you think is the best way to go.

This is just a street Duster, but I would like to make it as 'performance' as I can. I do like a lumpy idle.

I assume no matter what I'll need to chance the pushrods? But I'm hoping to pick a cam that doesn't present me with a range of other issues/purchases regarding vacuum, springs, valve clearance and whatever else I'm not considering...

I should note, when I requested help from Comp Cams I gave a few different stall speeds because at the time I wasn't sure what I had. But now I know it's 2600. So they gave me a range of options here for 1500-2600 stall.

Cam reccos:

Setup:
I know my setup could be better but I've spent all my money so it remains for now. Down the road I'll change the rear end, get a bigger carb and put rollers in etc..

73 Duster
LA360 swapped
A904 with TF2
7 1/4 Rear with 2.76 ratio (will change when it blows up)
26" Tire height
2600 TC stall speed
~9.5-10CR
Electric distribution
Holley 650DP
Old Holley Street Dominator single plane intake
Edelbrock Performer RPM heads with 2.02 intake
Stock rockers
Hydraulic Flat Tappet

Flat top pistons
Long tube headers
Power steering (no power brakes)
Thank you for any help,
Ben

@AJ/FormS is needed. I bet he recommends (and me too) that you do a rear end swap first. Don't build the engine around that rear end, gear ratio, and those tall tires. A stock 360 with a 3.55 or more has plenty of power to spin those tires half way down the block.