360 virgin need balance question answer?

-

MyBlueCuda

Reaction score
I've got a '65 Barracuda with a 273 automatic in it. Unfortunately a rod started knocking last week. So I've decided to go with a 408 stroker crate motor for now and rebuild the 273 this winter. Question is I know the 273 is internally balanced and the 360 is externally balanced. Is there anything special I should do for this swap? The 360 is coming with the harmonic balancer attached. My trans is the A-904. I've got a new Hughes torque converter to put in it. Is it balanced already?
I'm new to small blocks so any help is appreciated.

Most 408's are internally balanced. then you mention a 360. :dontknow:

Most aftermarket converters are neutral balance unless ordered otherwise.

My 408 stroker was built using a 360 LA block. I basically need to know if I need to do anything special bolting an externally balanced motor to a trans that used to be bolted to an internally balanced motor.

ask the engine manufacturer if its interenally balanced or externally balanced. if internal you should be good to go, if external you need to order a b&m flexplate, or order a balance kit and weld it to the torque converter

360(externally balanced)harmonic balancer.
B&M #10239 externally balanced flexplate.
Neutral balanced converter. (no weights).

The other problem you may have is the 273 convertor has a smaller hub [the bit that fits into the back of the crank] and that needs to be addressed. Another thing, if it's the original '65 trans, I wouldn't be putting it behind a 408, they have a smaller input shaft among other things.

The best thing would be to get hold of a '76 or later trans, they are a good foundation to build on.

Good advise on the convertor and trans.With more than double the tq and hp in the 408, some trans upgrades would be a good idea.My 408(410)is internally balanced.

360(externally balanced)harmonic balancer.
B&M #10239 externally balanced flexplate.