67 Dart GT Clone Build

-

LocuMob

Fluid Technician
Reaction score
Started to tear down the Dart to begin the transformation. It started out as a Dart 270 with a /6 that had a piston hanging out of the block, knocked the starter off the transmission! I put in a 360 twice, the first was junk and never ran, the second one ran fine, but i never had the rear brakes working and wiring issues, and so forth and so on.

I've been gathering parts for about 10 years and finally am giving the old girl some attention she deserves. I will be cloning a 67 GT. I have complete interior with buckets and a console, tail panel, emblems, and will be getting rocker molding to complete the look.

For power I'll be using a 440 to start, and hopefully ending with a Hemi down the road. That has me thinking of opening the wheel wells when it comes time for body work, as I've loved the look of these cars and will be using a hemi scoop. Those will be the 2 deviations from stock 67 GT image. For now I want to get the car drivable.

I'll also be throwing in a 68 /6 K member, Schumacher mounts, 73 up front suspension, tie rod ends, center link and 11.75" rotors and pin type calipers. Have Weld Pro Star rims and 275/60/15s for the rear. Anyone know what issues I might run into with these tires? I have to check the backspacing on the rims. I will have that info tomorrow.

I hope to have the engine/trans and driveshaft out tonight, then I'll probably do the interior. Gonna have to find a place for the stuff inside the car! Gotta find a place for the stuff in the garage...

Attachments

• IMG_3458.jpg
    82.3 KB · Views: 428
  • IMG_3460.jpg
    82.3 KB · Views: 433
That's not factory? Yeah it looks like crap. It's originally light blue, previous owner scuffed it before putting the yellow on. Blacked out all the chrome and lettering. On the plus side, I got a decent 68 grille with the center divider, but painted black.