Assembling my first big block HELP!

-

zac_F71

Reaction score
I have lots of knowledge of how to assemble an engine and a 68 service manual - but haven't worked with a big block yet besides tearing them down LOL what little tricks or tips can I get for putting one together?

I bought a "running" 71 383 from a guy as I want to get my Demon on the road within a couple months to enjoy it for the summer..

I get it and tear it down to inspect it - all seems fine BUT he honed the cylinders and I'm not sure if he replaced the rings.. How can I tell if the rings have been replaced? - he did a home refresh on it - new gaskets, bearings, honed the cylinders, inspected/greased the valve guides, ect, ect..

I have it torn down to the short block minus the oil pan currently and parts are starting to show up to reassemble it.. I got everything but rings and pushrods.. should I buy rings and pushrods?

My questions-
How do you install the rear main seal?
How do you clock the dist in the block?
Are stock pushrods ok for the added pressure of the stealth head springs (it will be beat on but not rev'd high)
Any special measures that I should take with the MP shim head gaskets?

Going to do a mild 383 -

71 hp 300hp 383 - pistons are .050"-.055" in the hole
Milodon 7qt oil pan
MP windage tray
stock oil pump
Summit double roller chain
Comp hyd 230* @.050"/ .480" 110* cam
stock pushrods/rockers (for now - plan to buy new rods when I get rockers)
440 source Stealth heads OOTB - nothing will be done to them just bolted on
MP shim head gaskets (should be 9:1 static w/ the shims/ stealth heads)
Edelbrock torker 383 (low rise single plane)
1/2" 4 hole spacer
Holley 3310 750
Hedman 1 3/4" B body headers
Summit 3" X pipe
Dynomax Ultraflows dumped at axle
crank under drive pulley off ebay
Mancini lightweight modern alt kit (Toyota 120amp alt)

drive train will be -
stock A727 w/ a refresh kit in it as well as a Transgo shift kit (installed heavy springs)