Calling on Holley carb experts!!!!!!!!

-

duster360

Reaction score
I have a Holley carb with 4 corner idle. I have researched and cannot find a straight forward answer to what I am about to ask.
I have been read and been told by a professional carb building company that the 4 corner idle carb should be turned out about 1 1/2 turns. I have tried 2 different Holley based carbs and on my engine neither did very well at idle with all 4 corners turned out more than 1/2 turns.
I have an afr gauge to help with tuning. If adjusted to 1 full turn on each corner it will bellow black smoke out the exhaust. My question is, are there any drawbacks to only being able to gon1/2 turns vs the 1 1/2 turns they suggest?

Im no expert.
But did you start with setting your transfer ports?
Carb off,upside down.
Adjust timing to get idle up and then work on your 4 corners.
Thats all i learnt so far.

Find yourself some new experts. You're already showing your using your noodle more than they have. The reason for having adjustable idle mixture screws is to adjust them. The number of turns out is not the way to determine what the engine needs. :rolleyes: As you observed, its clearly too rich for your engine at just one turn out.

As long as the engine responds to the adjments, its not terribly important if they are 1/4 turn out, 2 turns out or something in between. Keeping track of the number of turns out is useful but it's not a target.

With a four corner idle, the manifold vacuum is acting on a second set of idle ports and supply. This is why 4 corner carbs generally need less turns out on the mixture screws. Compared to a similar carb with 2 corner idle, it doubles the idle port fueling. So if the engine produces reasonable decent vacuum at idle, having them end up at less the 1 turn out is not surprising.

PS. Sadly its not not the first time I've heard of a professional give this type of advice.