Ecu and ballast resistor questions

-
Reaction score
On my 1974 duster 360, i recently upgraded to a HEI distributor as well as installed an American autowire wiring harness. Its been great, i love the new harness, however it lacks information about a ballast resistor and ECU. The distributor is a 2 wire, (battery and tach). Like i said, there's nothing to indicate a need for the ECU on the diagrams AAW provides but im just not sure. Im not too good at wiring, this might be a rather simple question for some of you. Do i just forget about it or do i need to splice the ECU in somewhere? And what about the ballast resistor? Id prefer to bypass as much as i can if possible. im hoping to clean things up a bit for a few shows and competitions. Any help and advice is much appreciated

I believe the short answer is no (Chrysler) ECU with HEI based on my reading.
No real world experience in HEI.
You WILL get a better answer from the group.:)
I think you will need to provide more info on your distributor though.
I just wrestled the ignition alligator and went the other route.

20170513_131051.jpg

I believe it depends on the type of pick-up/trigger assembly that your distributor uses. Most HEI's would have an inductive type pick-up that would not require a resistor. If it happens to have another type, photocell for example, then it may need a resistor for it's protection.

I believe it depends on the type of pick-up/trigger assembly that your distributor uses. Most HEI's would have an inductive type pick-up that would not require a resistor. If it happens to have another type, photocell for example, then it may need a resistor for it's protection.
How could i go upon checking this?