Flat Tappet Lifter Oil ??

-

cecil4speed

Reaction score
What is everbody using for flat tappet lifter oil these days? Is it the SL rating that I have to look for on the oil specs? Can I use an additive in my regular oil to make up for the lack of ZDDP? I now use Shell 10W30 in my 340 eng. Thanks guys.

I use the ZDDP+ additive with my regular oil, Castrol 20W50 in my 408. After the cam is broken in and you have about 2,500 miles you supposedly shouldn't need it anymore, but I'll continue using it just to be on the safe side.

use the valvoline racing only oil. it has the required 1200ppm's of zinc. i don't like to mess additives. use the valvoline stuff & forget about the others. i have been using it for the past 4 years, no problems at all. i run a hughes solid cam that requires stiff valve springs. i have no wear concerns at all.

Valvoline racing is a good choice I use it, as stated you need the required ZDP amount and it works fine. I run 20-50.

Ive rum Mobil 1 10w30 High Mileage in my (gasoline) flat tappet engines for a couple years now with no problems. It's an ACEA A3 rated oil. I send a sample in for analysis at each drain interval, and my iron numbers have been well below average.

For break-in, I use dino oil with an additive and switch to the synthetic at first drain.

I run Joe Gibbs Driven Hot Rod oil. The problem with additives is that the detergents in most modern oils tend to attack the zinc additives, negating the effectiveness of the zinc additive.

This is what I was wondering about additives. I'd like to use an oil that I could get locally and that I would not have to run an additive, but maybe there is nothing left on the market like this. No speed shops in my town so I would have to go elsewhere to get something. Thanks.

I switched over to Amsoil. The one I'm running has ZDDP of 1200ppm already in it

Sure had a lot of views, but nobody wants to share what oil they use. Thanks to all you answered.