Headlight upgrades?

-

OriginalDart

Reaction score
I'm looking to upgrade my headlights in my 69 dart. I was thinking maybe some slick HID's and at least something brighter than my stock lamps. I'm looking for advice on how far I can go with this and how many aftermarket options are available. I'm not too experienced with upgrading headlights on mopars

-TheOriginalDart

There are lots of way to go wrong here -- most of what's on the market in headlamp "upgrades" is junk, illegal, dangerous, or all three. See this post and this one. Also see articles on Allpar (with lousy photos but sound info) here and here.

Nutshell version: Put in relays. If you need to stick to a tight budget, the only sealed beams worth driving at night with are the GE Night Hawk items, which are very far preferable to any other sealed beams. If you're thinking of upgrading to replaceable-bulb headlamps, shop very carefully because most of what's on the market is garbage, and even if you disregard the off-brand trash all over the internet and look only at reputable-brand lamps (Hella, Cibie, Bosch, Koito), the range of performance among them is very large.

There are no good, safe, legal, cost-effective HID headlamps currently manufactured in the 7" round size format since these have apparently been discontinued.

"HID kits" in halogen-bulb headlamps (any kit, any headlamp, any vehicle -- no matter whether the "HID kit" and the headlight units are sold together or separately) do not work safely or effectively, which is why they are illegal. See here.