I'm not a mechanic but I'll learn.

-

BigWhi

Reaction score
I'm a little late to the party at 34 but I'm wanting to learn. I bought a 71 Plymouth Scamp that currently has a slant 6 in it. I also found a 01 Durango Rt 5.9 Magnum that was rolled for very cheap. I am in IT and basically that's my first love, but I have recently found a new love which is Mopar.

My best friend has a scamp parts car that was a v8 car and is going to give me the things I need off of it to make this swap. He is an experienced technician and is going to be helping with this project. I'm just lost on what all will be needed to make this swap and what all will not be needed. I am leaning towards the carb setup over the EFI for ease of the swap. Please correct me if I'm missing something. I have been reading lots of articles on this type of engine swap but I don't know if I'm reading the right things or if I'm just not understanding a lot of it.

Any help will be appreciated. I have been on magnumswap.com reading a bunch but it seems like they want to sell you more things than actually keeping it under a budget.

Take the tech from magnummopar and buy it elsewhere for cheaper. It has pretty much all you need to know about retrofitting a magnum

Magnum use longblock, carbed intake, electronic dist w vacuum advance. Somebody correct me if im wrong here but use LA waterpump and pulleys. You can even use 5 bolt valve covers on 10 bolt magnum heads if you like old skool look. Use V8 k off parts car or keep your slanty K and use schumacher motor mount adaptors from slant 6 to 360. Carb your choice. I prefer AFBs. Some like Holleys. If engine is not center sump. You will need to buy a 360 center sump passenger car oil pan and oil pick up tube. A 318 car pan wont fit a 360 and vise versa.