Lessons learned from my complete drivetrain upgrade 65 Cuda

-

65goldcuda

@65_Cuda w/408/727/Dana 60
Reaction score
Ok Guys...I am opening myself up to a whole bunch of "I told you so's." or "duhh" or "Classic Rookie Mistake" comments, but I am posting this because 1. I am happy/proud of how the car turned out..2. Want to make sure people avoid some of the mistakes I made..3. Hopefully I can help someone who is considering this project in the future by telling them what did and did not work for me (saving them time and money). Disclaimer: I AM NOT A MECHANIC NOR A MOPAR EXPERT..IN FACT I AM A ROOKIE..but I now have a wealth of education from the MOPAR school of hard knocks! I know many of you are experts and have forgotten more than I will ever know about these cars. So this post is more for those who are considering this project. ALSO..THIS IS GOING TO BE A LONG WINDED POST SO THAT ANYONE WHO TAKES THE TIME TO READ IT SEES ALL THE GOOD…THE BAD..AND THE UGLY... ...ONE MORE THING..HOW MUCH OF A DIFFERENCE DID THIS UPGRADE MAKE?? READ ALL THE WAY THROUGH TO FIND OUT!
1. Ok...first lesson learned.. KNOW WHO YOUR DEALING WITH! Never trust someone who thinks they know what they are doing because they have worked on a lot of Chevy’s and Fords....but really doesn't have a lot of experience with A-Body MOPAR's (DUHH!) :banghead: I trusted a guy who claimed to be an expert mechanic who said “I can build you a new 360 engine, rebuild your trans with a shift kit…and beef up your rear end and drive line for about $11,000 in less than two months.. (I so badly wanted to believe him that I fell for it…what a waste of time and money). After almost 6 months of him trying and failing, I took away the car from him. More on that later..