Need to identify a particular K-member and Pitman

-

TIBBY

Reaction score
I'm new to FABO and excited about the info I've already obtained.

I have 73 Duster440/727,originally a 340 manual, I've bought a new front suspension replacement kit (ball joints, poly bushings,etc.) and I cant figure out what K-member is in it, it is not original, It appears to have the sway bar tunnelling through it...I'ts massive. The reason I ask is the pitman arm is not for a 340 duster either, I thought the steering box and P.Arm came with the Kmember, and I'm having trouble getting the correct one. It bends down and then comes up through the steering link(nut is on the top). Sure appreciate any help. I have some pics at http://s246.photobucket.com/albums/gg82/440DUSTER/?albumview=slideshow

Thanks

You have a 73-76 A-body K-frame.

You have a 68-72 A-body manual steering gear, pitman arm, idler arm and centerlink setup. That setup will swap into a 73-76 k-member as a whole unit with all the parts mentioned together. The 68-72 manual steering gear pitman arm is the same part number as the 68-72 power steering arm.

I can not see a picture of the lower control arms.

If the lower control arms have a sway bar welded mount near the end of them, then it would take a 67-72 front sway bar. That is bolted to the front of the K-member and you can drill two holes in the K-member to accept that.

If the lower control arms have a sway bar mount welded in the middle of the arm then it would take a 73-76 front sway bar with the bar passing through the k-member. You will need some brackets to bolt to the two holes in your k-member for that.

damn autoxcuda, how do you tell by those pics that the pitman and centerlink are 68-72? i got the k frame, but haven't seen 68-72 next to a 73-76 in a long time.

damn autoxcuda, how do you tell by those pics that the pitman and centerlink are 68-72? i got the k frame, but haven't seen 68-72 next to a 73-76 in a long time.

It's not my first rodeo :laughing: