Parking lights not working

-

BullsIgt

Reaction score
Hello, I have done some searching on here and was unable to find information that could help me. Recently my parking lights/dash lights/tail lights have stopped working on my 1964 dart gt. This happened after a rain storm and since I did not know the car leaked I found a puddle of water on the rubber floor mat the next day.

Usually when this happens I would check the fuse box to see if a fuse was blown but I couldn't find one under the dash or under the hood. Does anyone know if there is one? If there isn't I would assume that the problem is with the two stage switch that controls the parking lights and the headlights. However the headlights come on just fine. Is it possible that water shorted the switch out at only one position? I'm pretty new to working on electrical systems but I know enough to check for power and ground however I have no idea which wires to check. I found a wiring diagram here
I have no idea if it is accurate or not. Like I said I'm new to this so any information that could help me fix the problem would be greatly appreciated.

Also I tried removing the panel that has the switch/ trans push button on it but could not get it to budge after removing the two screws. I didn't want to force it in fear of breaking the panel. So anyone knows how to remove it that would definitely help.
Thank you in advance.

The headlights are a different circuit. The headlights only power comes from the splice in the ammeter wire and goes right to the light switch

I'm not familiar with the fuse layout in the older cars, but if your tail lights work, it's not the fuse.

This leaves the bulkhead connector, always a suspect, or the feed coming out of the light switch (connector) to the park lights, or the switch itself.