Prep work question

-

USCG CHARGER

Reaction score
I just bought a 67 Cuda notch back. The question is: It's already primered but has some surface rust on the car nothing serious, no bubbling or see through rust. I'm having the outside of the car soda blasted and towed to a garage where it will have a 5.7 installed. After the car is blasted, I was told to put etching primer (omni) followed by PPG primer #K38. I have no prior experience painting and wondering how hard it would be to put these primers on. The reason I am primering it, is so bare metal isn't exposed for the 3 months that the car will be worked on. After the engine is finished, I will be taking it to a professional painter to have them block sand and paint it.

What kind of spray gun should I use? Electric or air?

Will this make more or less work for the painter?

Are these the right kind of primers to use?

JAson

70dart said:
Use epoxy primer it is a rust inhibitor.

Whats the difference between etching and epoxy primer? Are these the first primer to go on? I was told this etching primer was clear......sorry for all the questions. I'm not trying to do a whole lot here...I just wanted to preserve her for the next 6 mo. till I get her to a real body shop guy that can block sand it and paint it.

Jason

I have used both the epoxy and the self etching primers. The self etching stuff is thin and easily scratched. Usually Vomit Green in color. The Epoxy stuff is my favorite after using it, just once. I wish I had used it from the start. It's a much thicker build up, more scratch resistant, forms a "virtual" shell on the metal. It's also available in White which can be tinted somewhere close to your finish color, saving you work in the long run. Only down side to it is how much $$$ it is.

Hope this Helps. Eric