Sloppy steering 65 Cuda..need help..suggestions?

-

65goldcuda

@65_Cuda w/408/727/Dana 60
Reaction score
Hi Guys, I have been driving my 65 Cuda for a few months now and having been working bugs out little by little. When I started.. the steering was already sloppy, but it is getting worse. I need some help in not only what parts you think need to be replaced, but also a good source to find them.

Symptoms: I just have a lot of play in the steering wheel. I can put my hand on the top and grip it at 12 o'clock position on the wheel and move it almost to the six o'clock position before I really get the car to start turning. Or in other words, lets say I am driving straight down a road and I am coming up to a slight right hand turn, If my grip is at the 12:00 position, I keep my grip and start turning to the right, I get almost nothing until I pass the 3:00 position and have to take it almost all the way to 6:00 as I am going around the corner. (compared to a new car where I could probably do that corner from the 12:00 to the 2:00 or 3:00 position. As I exit the corner and start going straight again I notice the slack and slop and almost have to pass the 12:00 towards the 10:00 or 11:00 to keep it straight.. (hopefully this makes sense). So I know I probably have a lot of slop and play in my steering box, and maybe even some in my control arms and ball joints. I also know that it is an old car and even know it has power steering it will probably not ever handle like a new car, (which I don't expect) but I think mine is getting worse, and I want the car to be as solid as possible. So I would actually be willing to replace all of those parts to tighten everything up if that what it takes. (Because I have pretty much replaced the rest of the powertrain and rear end and suspension, new shocks etc). But where do you find good replacement steering/suspension parts for my car? Is there a good online source anyone could recommend?

Thanks in advance..