Starting My restoration on a 65 Barracuda...1st question Instrument Cluster Removal?

-

JeffreyLee

1965 Barracuda
Reaction score
I am just beginning a mostly cosmetic restoration on my 65 Barracuda, I need to diagnose dash light problems, hanging dash wires, new bulbs, rusty, crusty fuse box, broken steering wheel collar and generally clean things up. Probably install a new electronic type voltage reducer. First step....remove instrument cluster to see behind the dash....Do i need to remove the steering wheel? Cant get past the 4 dash screws and stuck already! I'm gonna need your guys' expertise! Thanks
IMG_7647.JPG
IMG_7646.JPG
IMG_7644.JPG

You need to remove steering column support. You do not need to remove steering wheel.

You have to drop the steering colum. On the bottom of the dash, by the collum, are two7/16, or 1/2 in bolts, they hold the round bracket that holds the collum up. Loosen them up, to where you can lift the cluster out. If you still can't move it, take the bolts all the way out. You might have to loosen the three large bolts, down on the firewall where the collum goes thru. Only loosen the three large bolts. This will let you move the collum around to remove the cluster. Don't forget the speedometer cable. I always put an ole towel around the collum to keep it from getting scratched.

I am just beginning a mostly cosmetic restoration on my 65 Barracuda, I need to diagnose dash light problems, hanging dash wires, new bulbs, rusty, crusty fuse box, broken steering wheel collar and generally clean things up. Probably install a new electronic type voltage reducer. First step....remove instrument cluster to see behind the dash....Do i need to remove the steering wheel? Cant get past the 4 dash screws and stuck already! I'm gonna need your guys' expertise! Thanks View attachment 1715093272 View attachment 1715093271 View attachment 1715093273