Tank you very much: advice please

-

Gadabout

Reaction score
So, the restorer wants to replace the gas tank right off the bat, sight unseen, because it is original to 1960 and, he says, "probably has bad interior rust." Well, when I was a recent college grad, my '67 Dart could not hold more than five gallons at a time before it dribbled through the seam. I did end up replacing it myself with a pair of vice grips in a back alley in February. Miserable job. But the question, this tank doesn't leak. Should I just replace it without further investigation? Seems a bit extreme.

Not leaking doesn't necessarily mean a clean interior of the tank. Only a visual inspection (remove and eyeball it, or an inspection camera through the filler or sending unit holes).
Personally, I would reuse the original if it is structurally sound; and I'd especially reuse the original pickup/sender if it is in good shape, or have it rebuilt. Aftermarket senders are generally not well matched to Mopar tank requirements- they function, but accuracy suffers. And save/reuse your original lock ring, most aftermarket ones are too thin and don't seal well.
Moral of the story: use the original equipment when you can.

Today's fuels are more corrosive than fuel from 'yester-years. This is surely a prophylactic measure, that it'll avoid potential issues in the future. The cost of removing, cleaning and inspecting the old tank will exceed the cost of a replacement tank for sure.

It's not clear to me, - if its a 67, the tank is unique with a single transverse strap, may be hard to find.
Good luck regardless.