TBI Wiring Question

-

A38Valiant

Collector Of Rust
Reaction score
I have a 1991 Dakota with the weak suck 3.9 TBI engine, and would like to swap the TBI 318 from a 1991 full size donor truck into it. Question is what wiring dilemmas am I going to run into?

Also wondering about adding an E-brock Torker 340 intake, Holley Pro-Jection throttle body, and some dual exhaust. What cam should I consider? Truck is 2wd and will be a parts chaser with attitude, has the A500 trans, and will have 4.10 cogs. I'm new to injection when it comes to anything non-stock. Any and all help is much appreciated.

When you say Holley Pro-jection, are you talking about just interfacing the Holley TB to your computer?

Bear in mind there is an 'early' and 'late' series of the Holley TB and my understanding is that the early injectors are no longer available. The can be id'd by round top black electrical plugs. The later ones sort of plug into the sides of the top

Also, Holley seems to be proprietary. I bought a Holley MADE TB off an OEM GM application, and the injector plugs are DIFFERENT between Holley and OEM. If Holley (aftermarket) is the same as some OEM, I'm not aware of what

If you land a genuine TB out of the old Holley Pro-Jection system, IT HAS NO IAC. Idle is set by a screw like a carb. The OEM replacement (Holley made) TBs DO have IAC

Do NOT screw with the old Holley (2D, etc) computer, the one with the 5 adjustments out the end. They are pretty much junk.)

My ramblings:

Was originally going to re-work this Ferd system and use the parts. Might yet "some day."

http://www.forabodiesonly.com/mopar/showthread.php?t=198603

I actually "started" by falling into a Pro-Jection 2D REAL cheap, and later, a Commander 950 REAL cheap:

http://www.forabodiesonly.com/mopar/showthread.php?t=209528

http://www.forabodiesonly.com/mopar/showthread.php?p=1970081758