Transmission fluid leaking 318-LA

-

Raiderfan489

Reaction score
Hey everyone! I'm having a slight problem with my transmission lines. With the two hoses coming out of the radiator, the one that is the closest to the motor (the one on the left when looking at it head on) seems to keep leaking al over my k member. The first set of hoses were getting corroded and I replaced them with a smaller gauge and reclamped them up. For the first day, there were no problems. But now I've come to notice at the end of the hose, it keeps dripping and running down the line. Anybody else have this issue? I'm an amateur when it comes to any car work, but I'm still learning new tips everyday. Anyone able to help me out?

Thanks!
James

im no expert but maybe can give u some helpful info.

did u redo the lines with steel or rubber?
if u did u make sure to use some oil resistant pipe thread paste on the threaded ends?if so after taking a drive i would then retighten to make sure with temp shirnking and expanding that they seat good.

id think it would be leaking from the threaded point if its running down the line. imo

i did away with the radiator tranny cooler its not as good as a good brand tranny cooler(B&M,Be Cool,Flexalite....),pushed the threaded part back on the line and put rubber lines over the ends and clamped them down good and mounted the cooler behind the grille. shifts tighter, cruises smoother and keeps the heat down great!.

Sounds like you are messing around with a previous owners mess around. The trans cooler lines never had any rubber hose sections. Should be 5/16 steel lines from rad' to the trans'. New reproduction lines is probably your best route.

Redfish is right. It should be solid steel lines, no rubber hose at all. You can buy pre bent replacement lines or buy 5/16" brake line and bend your own. IMO it's worth it to buy the pre bent lines. Lots less labor installing it and don't cost much more, just gotta wait a few days for the order to arrive.