What do you builders think these build specs will run like?

-

72Dodge

Reaction score
I picked up a very cheap but fresh 318 from someone I trust. But, not being an engine builder myself, I don't really know what to expect (other than what I was told) after I put the motor in the car. I don't have all the specs, but I have the below.

So, anyone who knows from experience what different parts put together will yield, how do you think this will perform in terms of power, streetability (revs), etc. Opinions are fine I suppose, but I'm looking for more like solid experience or any other tips. "Build a 340 or 360 instead" is not an answer... I have those motors too. This is a cheap 318 to put in a driver, and will be in an auto car (well, maybe).

Motor is pretty fresh.
1973 318 block, .030 over, crank .030 under
cast pistons
302 swirl port heads (stock as far as I know, but freshened up... it was one of the good years for these, don't remember offhand)
double roller timing chain
melling oil pump, new oil pump drive shaft
Mopar purple cam P4120231, 284 duration, 484 lift
compression is a little over 9, I can't remember exactly, but not much over 9.

Apparently there was a different cam put in this to begin with, and it fell on it's face. The builder called MP and told them how the rest was built and they said that choice was bad, but for this build, this cam would work well, and apparently, it did. Was a strong runner, from what I was told.

For an intake I was thinking either a Edelbrock Performer or a Weiland 8007 Action Plus. Any thoughts on that? Also, don't have a carb selected.

Goal is fun street car, nothing crazy (of course).

Thoughts? Suggestions? ... Thanks

A lot of cam for a 318.What gears,stick,automatic(what stall converter?)Nice combo,otherwise.Intake should match your cam choice.If you like rowdy,run that cam,add a air gap intake.

(On the power brake issue):