68/75 Dart from BR

-

Dart_br

Reaction score
Hi all

Let me introduce myself:

My name is Rafael, im from Brazil, more precisely, from the south of Brazil. I am a big fan of mopars, and it is a problem here, since the mopars are very rare here, and also VERY expensive. Few months ago i found a 1975 Dart (1968 model in USA) that was literaly burried (almost) alive. I bought it cheap, and the car is very solid, 95% rust free. The car need a good body and paint work, and this is a big problem here due to the lack of good shops to do the job. The car will be a street/strip car, more street than strip, and the engine, gears and suspension i will take care by myself. I degree as a mechanical engineer, and after this, went to a pilot school and now i am a first officer in a airline here in Brazil. Due to this, i use to travel to USA two or three times a year, so i can get the parts i need to the car.

The project:

No frills. Engine is a 402 cid, 4"x4", with magnum heads, ported, with a XE284h cam. Eagle crank, speed pro pistons, moly rings, 10:1 CR, Cheap headers, and in the top of the cake, a mopar M1 intake and fuel injection. The ECU is fully programable and made here in BR, www.fueltech.com.br .
The car have a factory 3spd mechanical gear box with floor shifter, that i'll keep until i find a 904 and rebuild it.
The rear end is very particular, here the a-bodies came with a "copy" of the GM 10-bolts, made here in BR, but are very reliable and strong, we use this rear-ends in 10s cars successfully. I have one of these with 3,91 gears and limited slip diff.

I will keep this topic updated as much as my time allows, since i travel a LOT, and it will be good to keep myself motivated.

The goal:

I will get married in 14/jan, and NEED to go to the church in MY car. Counting from now, i have 7 months.

The progress: