79 440 in a 67 dart?

-

JohnnyDart273

Reaction score
I have the opportunity to get my hands on a 1979 440 from a friend for $200, its a complete running engine but if I get it I plan to go through and rebuild it anyway. But on to the point I was wondering if there are any drawbacks to a later model motor like this one when compared against earlier years? My 1967 dart came with a 273 and I just wanted more power I plan on it being a driver with it making the occasional trip to the drag track to play so anytips would also be appreciated for this build. Ive only dealt with small blocks up to this point so if you couldnt tell Im pretty new to a big block lol. Thanks in advance.

Honestly, a 79' 440 is a big smog motor, low compression no power (earlier 440's had forged goodies too). That 273 ya got probably isn't too much less power than the 440 (although the torque would be higher). It's alot of work in the front end meaning suspension upgrades, different motor mounts, expensive headers etc...This is the thread i posted because i have a "similar" predicament so maybe read through and see what some guys said, i'm still on the fence haha
http://www.forabodiesonly.com/mopar/showthread.php?t=173392

I believe they only made the 440 until 78? Also it may be a carry over from left over production possibly. The later 440's were cast crank engines as well as the pistons being pretty far down in the hole.. lower compression motors. I just installed a 440 in my 67 this summer. You will be limited on header options, a-body hp manifolds are hard to find and expensive, you can use some other styles but they need to be machined. I went with Schumacher headers and they fit great... but expensive.... or you can use fender well's... but you have to cut up the engine bay. Motor mounts can be had from Trans Dapt for pretty cheap... they are the same as Schumacher mounts at half the price.