Basic Magnum Engine question

-

KevinB

Reaction score
Building my 5.9...and so far have the short block together except for decreeing the cam. My question is about balancing, a subject I know little about.

So the magnum is externally balanced. This means both the flywheel and harmonic balancer contribute to the overall balancing of the assembly, correct?

My engine is a fresh rebuild with a reground, repolished crank, new pistons and bearings, etc. Also may machinist marked each piston and rod assembly as to what cylinder it should be in...I assume for balancing them.

My Question then is this: Do I need to take my short block to an engine shop to have it further balanced, with the weighted flywheel and balancer attached? Sorry for the basic question...it's my first time putting an engine together.

Edit: I should mention the pistons are supposed to be factory replacement .02 over. Just talked to the machinist and he said he did not do a dynamic balancing on it but feel 99% confident it wouldn't need that based on the factory replacement pistons. Maybe its work double checking the piston weight vs factory to make sure it's on the money?

My 20 over speed pros were way heavier than the stock pistons and motor needed to be balanced.

There's no data available for my sealed power Pistons. I have a note in with fed mogul to find out...the stock magnum pistons are 470g and aluminum. I'm hoping the sealed power are close.

Without the actual wieght of the old pistons you are just guessing, weight also includes the rings.
The KB 107's is used in my mag were lighter so mallory needed to be added to the crank.

Without the actual wieght of the old pistons you are just guessing, weight also includes the rings.
The KB 107's is used in my mag were lighter so mallory needed to be added to the crank.