Changed throttle cable, dies when driving

-

Otateral

Reaction score
The idle is good. But sometimes when I let off the brake and apply the accelerator, it dies. If I let off the brake, and don't apply any gas it seems fine, then I can press the accelerator and no problems.

Does this sound like a vacuum leak? I'm a newbie but I'm pretty sure the throttle cable is installed properly and is tight. The idle is perfect, otherwise. And it never dies while idling.

Carburetor operation and repair manuals and links to training movies and carb repair/modification threads are posted here for free download. Tune-up parts and technique suggestions in this thread.

Vacuum leak can cause off idle stumble, bog, or stalling depending how bad it is.

Need to know more such as year and model, dose this car have power brakes? If so the brake booster could be one cause of a vacuum leak. Disconnect power booster vacuum line from manifold, seal up power brake vacuum port in manifold, and test for stalling. If it stalls, it is time to rebuild, or replace power brake booster. If nothing changes, reassemble vacuum lines to booster, and look for other vacuum leaks.

Also a bad accelerator pump shot will cause a stumble or stall when throttle plate opens making a lean condition.

With engine off, remove air cleaner, look down into carburetor, and open throttle by hand. If accelerator pump is working properly a good strong shot of gas will squirt out. If just a dribble or no squirt is seen it is time for a carburetor rebuild.

Can anyone recommend a specific carb rebuild kit for 69 Plymouth Valiant, 3.7L slant 6? Preferably one at O'Reilly autoparts or Autozone, but Napa is okay too.