diesel turbos whats the difference!?

-

mopardart72

I'm a pretty big deal
Reaction score
are there any differences from a diesel turbo and a car turbo. was in class today and this question crossed my mind

I am not a turbo expert, but I would imagine that a diesel turbo winds out at a low RPM because most diesels are not high revving engines.

A desiel turbo needs to put out a large amount air volume and a modest amount of pressure,thus the large turbo that works with a motor that has very little rpm,but plenty of torque.A car turbo can use high rpm to make plenty of boost and still fill the cylinders with plenty of air.A car turbo will spin 80,000-100,000RPM to make this possible,these are real world numbers.The diseil turbo will run about 50-60,000rpm to do the same work,but be able to pull a 15,000lbs trailer with no problem,the car will have a bit of a problem trying to do the same thing,mrmopartech

i have a rather large turbo off of a detroit diesel engine on a 400 in my 72 pickup and it does great i couldnt be more happy

0128001621[1].jpg

I will try to clarify for everyone the difference between Big Diesel Turbo's and Turbochargers that would be compatible to a street car.

What is the most common known Diesel that we can relate to?
The Cummins 5.9L of course.

The Cummins 5.9L underwent a number of revisions since its inception.
The turbocharger dimensions though stayed pretty much the same over the years....not to say they didnt change it up a little, But the Compressor Side and Exhaust Side wheels remained about the same...because the airflow requirement never changed...it remained a 5.9L throughout.

The most Common Turbocharger on the Cummins 5.9L is the HY-35.
There are H W Y- 35's the W designating "Wastegate Equipped."
HX35's
and even HX40's.

Forget the numbers in the names. The important thing about turbochargers, is Compressor Inlet (inducer) size...measured in MM.
The Exhaust outlet (Exducer) size...measured in MM.