Electric power steering?

-
He's right. I was a GM Warranty Administrator for the past 13 years and
this is a very common failure. You have to replace the whole column.

What part exactly fails?

In our application you wouldn't be changing the whole column, since the power unit would likely be grafted into the steering shaft with some u-joint adaptors. But is it just the motor that fails, or part of the gear system that drives the steering shaft? If its in the electronics, that part is replaced by an aftermarket controller.

Still curious, but obviously I don't want to get into fabbing up a custom steering shaft, making brackets and altering the column based around a part that's going to constantly be a problem.

The reason it is becoming the standard is for fuel economy, not performance. Just thought I'd throw that out there.

But the reasoning here is saving space in the engine bay.

What part exactly fails?
I can only comment on the GM OEM application. They treat the electronic
column assembly as a single non-servicable part. It sometimes seems like the motor overheats and looses assist. Other times it's like the range sensors loose their calibration and the assist jerks rather harshly.

What happens when these units fail?!?
I agree that the electric steering can have a bad road feel. With electronics encoding and decoding the position, some hesitation will always be an issue. With a direct mechanical link, this is not an issue unless you have slop in the parts.
Our daily drivers are a Civic and a Sonata. The Civic got it right. Nice tight,responsive and predictable steering. The Hyunday did not. It steers like my 96 Ram Diesel. Very sluggish and inconsistant. A lot of steering wheel turn for very little action of the front wheels turning. Then they had the nerve to put paddle shifters on it!

I can only comment on the GM OEM application. They treat the electronic