EQ head build + home porting advice sought

-

macdrew77

Reaction score
I've had a pair of bare ch318a Enginequest heads sitting around for a while now and I'm starting to get a little antsy. Especially since my order of porting supplies came in today and I got a chance to test them on a /6 head.
So my plan is to pick up a good used 5.9 motor and do a top end build up on the stock bottom end, with a roller regrind of around .520 lift (or as much as I can get from a 5.2 core), EQ heads with stock 1.92 valves, topped by performer RPM and thermoquad 9800s, and exiting thru headers and dual 2.5 exhaust. The idea of this build is to build a nasty street 360 for my 70 Dart 2dr without going to the machine shop and utiliszing a lot of the parts I already have lying around or on the car.
Onto the Heads... I'm no expert, but these castings are a beautiful sight. Still, I can't leave anything alone so I'm gonna make some iron dust. My plan is to gasket match intake side, widen the pushrod pinch to even it with the widest point as cast, clean up some shmoo around the intake valve guides, and blend the exhaust seat and remove the step that's there. Pics of these areas to follow. I'm looking for advice from people who have ported EQ heads successfully. What works and what doesn't? Is widening the pushrod pinch even further worth it? I have plenty of time on my hands. Or removing material around valve guides? How much is ok? Anyone polish the exhaust?
I plan on beginning porting Wednesday and depending on advice I get I will be ordering Hughes 1110 springs and stainless valves soon. Then setting them up with 2.2l retainers, stock locks, and stock rockers (which my research has led me to believe will be sufficient for street use and up to occasional 6500rpm). I think I'll need new pushrods too. Would love to hear any suggestions. Thanks for reading