New guy checking in...

-

bohica2xo

Reaction score
Hello everyone. Nice forums you have.

I recently acquired a 1965 Barracuda. Once the proper repairs are made, it will be the wife's toy...

Stand by for plenty of questions in threads I find that cover my issues with this little car.

A bit of background on myself & the car:

I have been twisting a wrench for a long time. Many brands, but the last Mopar I owned was a 1973 Power Wagon I bought new.

I am machinist by trade, and am not afraid to make what I can't find.

Three years ago my wife fell in love with an FIA correct 1965 Barracuda that was pounding around the track at the Goodwood Revival. Every time she sees a tired old Barracuda she points it out to me...

I found this car locally, and it was in decent shape. Still has the original headliner, seats, etc - all without rips or tears. Most of the OE parts are still there, and the factory A/C is still in the dash along with the original "AC" marked radiator...

It began life as a V8 automatic car, but not a formula S. Somewhere along the way the engine has been changed. I checked the front of the block, but there is nothing stamped there. I have not figured out how to look at the casting number (is this even possible with the OE manifold in place?) but it has a 4 barrel manifold & vac secondary holley.

It barely ran on the way home. I am not fond of holleys, mostly because they sell them to people that can't seem to tune them. When I pulled the float plug on the primary, fuel poured out - car was nose up in the driveway. Power valve is of course blown. Brakes are junk, makes a sharp left when braking. Previous owner "just bought tires" - yep 4 broken studs on the driver's side...

So I will be off asking disk brake questions next.

Thanks for a great forum.

B.

70DartMike: