The last Shootout, Sacramento Raceway 9-9-23

-

1969cuda

Reaction score
IMG_0025.jpeg

The track has sold and will be closing at the end of the year.

Uhh… the stories about Sacramento Raceway have been all over the map.
It has been for sale since at least 2017. There is a buyer in line but it is not clear when the deal will be finalized. The county will not allow the track to continue as a race course with any new owner.
The Mopar event promoter said that this is his final year doing it. If by some chance the sale and transfer is delayed, there may be more events but don’t count on it.

I’ve been attending the event for almost 20 years. I’ll be there this time too.

I have seen 3 different posters with 3 different gate opening times on Friday. Just curious

To recap:
The event yesterday was the biggest in years. The show car count was the biggest that I can recall, something like 45-50 cars. The event is geared toward racing so you'd never expect a 100+ count for the show. There have been past events where 20-25 cars were all that came in. The swap wasn't good. Maybe 10-12 people set up stuff that wasn't any better than what I already had. One or two had good stuff that I didn't need.
I did get to see some old friends that I only seem to see at car events.
I didn't watch any of the racing though it did seem to be going well. The event allowed all types of cars, not just Mopars. One Corvette lost an axle at the starting line and destroyed part of the divider wall at the starting line, that caused a delay. No injuries related to that.
Weather wasn't bad....mid 90s by afternoon.
It is highly UNlikely that the sale of the track would be delayed another year to allow another Mopar event in September as it has been for as long as I can remember. THIS was likely the last one.
It is good that it went out on a high note instead of with a half assed event with poor attendance.