wanna see agrown man cry???

-

NiceFishEh

Reaction score
Went to pick up the 8 3/4 this morning...looked up... had a great big ugly 'X' on the case. :(

Would anybody here bother with a 741?

I'm running a basically stock 340 with a 904.

I want a cruiser...not a 1/4 pounder!!

Have no intrest in gears that are 3:23 or lower.

:?:

741 case will be fine. Ive been beating mine for 4 years with big sticky tires on the car. Hard to find ring and pinions for though.

189812_00000_preview.jpg

Don't let that stop you from getting the rear end if the price is right. You can always upgrade the center section at a later date if you really want to. But I think the 741 center would be just fine for a street car.

Mmm messed up that other post. I am running a 741 with 3:55s and a Auborn pro series diff, from what I have read they are just fine unless you got huge horsepower and go to he track every weekend. I pound on mine(the car) and so far so good.
189812_00000_preview.jpg

Well I picked up this piece of crap 741 and now notice that when I turn the yoke, both axles turn the same direction.

What does this mean?

:shock:

That it works. :D

Turn the axle on one side and watch the other axle. If they turn the same direction, you might be lucky and have a posi. If they turn opposite, then you probably don't.

I smacked the drums off this morning... could not believe it. I knew immediately I landed me a SG. I just wanted to hear it from you guys.

I turned down this rear twice since last September.

The owner checked it and told me it was an open rear.

It came out of a four door 67 Coronet. The emblem on the car said SE.

So I had a hunch it might be a SG. It should be a power-loc as well. I'll know once I take out the centre tomorrow.

:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

beatiful! it is possible to run the 8 3/4" B body rear on a A body without making it shorter but its realy hard to find wheels with the right ofset!

Now I'm realllllly confused. :roll: