BBMopar's 73 Dart Swinger

-

BigBlockMopar28

Reaction score
Hey guys. Let me introduce you to my first build. 1973 Dodge Dart Swinger. Was a street driven and factory /6 car, until the guy I got it from converted it to a race car. Full roll cage, frame ties, and a few other goodies are still with the car. I wouldn't quite call this a "restoration", because it's not going back to an orginal form at all. Will have a 400bb, with a .509 purple shaft cam, ported m1 intake, 4 barrel 650 or 750, and aluminum heads. 727 trans w/ reverse valve body and manual shifter. I plan to make this a street/ strip hot rod. I plan on keeping the cage in the car aswell.

I'm also going to use this as a thread to drop some questions as I go along, because this is my first build. First time messing with anything on my own lol. So far, I've done some painting on the k frame, floors, and trunk. Removed the old 7 1/4 rear end and I'm in the process of rebuilding an 8 3/4. I have a 4 door /6 car to strip from. Complete running car with a rotting rear end. Not letting me post pics but I will soon.

20160726_204213.jpg

Welcome and good luck with your build. Plenty of help (and opinions) here. Looks like a good project. My first suggestion would be get some support under the center section as well. Get the heavy duty Jack Stands, they are on sale regularly.

I'm in the final stages of a 383/Scamp, street/strip project. Not an easy task but doable. Remember, anyone can push a gas pedal down. It's stopping and turning that get you home. It is almost impossible to overbuild the brakes and suspension . BTW, I powdercoated my suspension, looks killer and no rust issues. I'd be glad to help.

welcome to the beak club. ask away

Cleaned out my 8 3/4 housing and removed my front drums, spindles, and backing plates. Gonna clean up and paint my uppers and lower while I'm at it.