Polyester filler primer,anything new?....

-

Abodybomber

Breaking street machines , since 1983.....:)
Legendary Member
Reaction score
Started with lacquer primer,K200 PPG kicked it's ***.. Obviously,K200 is one & done, used PCL's Poly Prime with MEKP as the recommended catalyst. Worked fairly,what's the new info on fast filling polyester primers? (Thanks....)

Dunno man,it's been years (about 30 ) since I took my last ppg paint class.

Dunno man,it's been years (about 30 ) since I took my last ppg paint class.

I'm no expert, but have some experience. The catylized primers still shrink significantly over time, so less is more. These days I DA off the old paint, straighten the metal as best I can, spray a K200 type high build primer on it, and block it down as thin as I can get it without cutting through to the high spots. It's hard to know where you are sometimes without a paint thickness meter, so it is a great tool to have if you are doing several cars.

Once its flat, I seal and top coat or Base/Clear. There are also occassions that require some body filler.

If you color sand the entire surface, it will off-gas faster than with the shiney surface. Polish and enjoy.

Here is a little tip I would be happy to share. This is what we do at my shop. When using a k2 primer mix it as a sealer every time. Why you ask Well it lays down much nicer. The real reason is die back. as the product is much thinner it will shrink up a lot quicker than heavy coats. leaving no sand scratches to show up in the paint later. I apply 3 coats in between block sanding.

Here is a little tip I would be happy to share. This is what we do at my shop. When using a k2 primer mix it as a sealer every time. Why you ask Well it lays down much nicer. The real reason is die back. as the product is much thinner it will shrink up a lot quicker than heavy coats. leaving no sand scratches to show up in the paint later. I apply 3 coats in between block sanding.