Rod selection 440.

-

1967formulaS

Reaction score
So now that I have some TRW forged pistons, the engine guy said I might as well get some forged H beam rods.
In my price range,I'm looking at the following.
Eagle, scat, 440 source.
Slightly more expensive are molar and K1.
Looking for stock 6.760" and STD 990 pin.
Any suggestions appreciated.
I'm leaning towards the eagle rods, but the 440 source ones have alot of info about the rods on their page, but I have never used them before.
I'll be spinning this 440 no more than 6500rpm.

dad's motor uses a 440 source rotating assembly. all is holding up well, I shift it at 6500

I've heard nothing but good about 440 source.

For both of my 440's I used factory rods. Beam polished, shot peened with ARP wave loc bolts. I turn 6500 without issue.

what is the part number on the piston? most if not all trw pistons use the standard 440 size wrist pin = 1.094". and most trw pistons do not have clips for floating rods. stock rods are forged, and magnaflux checked and with new bolts are fine for 6500

Correction. yep 1.0939 pins. my bad.
L2355f+30

what is the part number on the piston? most if not all trw pistons use the standard 440 size wrist pin = 1.094". and most trw pistons do not have clips for floating rods. stock rods are forged, and magnaflux checked and with new bolts are fine for 6500

The engine guy said that by the time he preps the rods including new arp fasteners, I'll be up for 500-600, so for an extra 150-200, I'm better off with new rods.

last time I checked the L2355f does not have grooves for clips

I think you are correct, unless they have updated the piston. It's a press fit deal.

The OP may be able to, MIGHT be able to find a rod that had a press fit small end.

Any of the rods you mentioned are good rods. In fact, they probably came out of the same factory.