225 rebuild question...

-

DouglasMB

Reaction score
I bought my son a car and we got it running, one of the rods keeps slipping, my borther said it was something about a valve sticking... we are going to rebuild the whole thing just be cause we do not know what is in there and there is a lot a build up. This is my first time doing anything like this and i have people looking over my shoulder to help me and my son do this together. My question is, where is the best place to get complete rebuild kits for a 225 out of a 65 dart? Thanks

Review info on the slant six forum....there is much info.

Slant six.org is a great site for info on the build.

Here is a site with plenty of parts.

http://www.campbellenterprises.com/slant-six-6-performance-parts/wiseco-225-slant-6-six-pistons.php

Fel-pro for the gasket set.

Cam from comp cams.

E-bay for the valves and springs.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/225-...393QQitemZ390333121427QQptZRaceQ5fCarQ5fParts

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/225-...c53QQitemZ380354911315QQptZRaceQ5fCarQ5fParts

Aussie Speed for hop up parts.

http://aussiespeed.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=10&Itemid=33

Hopefully you can re-use some of your parts.

now I plan on having a little help but for the most part I am buying a book and my son and I are going to go step by step and try and do this in a weekend. We are going to take a ton a pics... for 2 reasons... 1) so when we go to put it all back together we know where things were and what it should look like... no laughing! :) 2) it's the first really big father son project we have had and it would be cool to do a scrap book for later.