318 using oil

-

7duster4

Reaction score
My 318 has around 10,000 miles since the rebuild. Always changed the oil around the 3,000 mile mark. A couple weeks ago I checked the dipstick to find the mark right on add. About 1,500 miles since the last oil change. I had half a quart lying around and added it. tonight I checked again to find it near add. Is this a common problem with these engines? I just added oil a couple weeks back. I haven't noticed any blue smoke. Oil pressue is always great. I'm no mechanic but what else could be causing this? The dipstick is aftermarket but pretty accurate. A little dissapointed being the engine has been rebuilt.

Any info is appreciated. Thanks

A quart every 3000 miles is about right for a 318. Sounds like you may have gotten some crappy valve stem seals for your rebuild or they were cut during installation. Get another set from a dealer and make sure they are installed with a squirt of oil and the valve stem cap in place. The cap is a little plastic deal that slips over the end of the valve and keeps the edges of the valve stem from cutting the seals when they are installed. Should be in the valve stem seal kit you buy. That should do it.

I like to mark a dipstick at full only after starting fresh with a new oil filter and 5 quarts(with a 5 quart stock pan) after running the engine and shutting it down for 15 minutes. Then I mark full on the dipstick where the oil level is. If your dipstick is showing full when the engine is overfull it will consume the oil until the crank isn,t whipping it around so much. How do the plugs look? any oily deposits?

Not normal to start using that much oil all of a sudden. Any changes to engine since re-build?