360 Questions

-

73'-318VALIANT

Terd Slinger
Reaction score
Well, Hopefully ill be going to try and find a good 360 block to start my build. My question is, What cars rolled of the the assembly line with the 360's? What is the best years to look for? Im gonna try yhe junk yards first and if all else fails ill try to buy one online! Any help would be greatly appreciated!!! thx in advance. T.

Well, Hopefully ill be going to try and find a good 360 block to start my build. My question is, What cars rolled of the the assembly line with the 360's? What is the best years to look for? Im gonna try yhe junk yards first and if all else fails ill try to buy one online! Any help would be greatly appreciated!!! thx in advance. T.

I'm a novice but if I were you the place to look would be 70's Vans and trucks.

They were used in trucks from 71 thru present, (at least I think they still use them). Also used in many different cars from 72 thru about 80 I think?? The 71-90 engines were considered LA series and the 91 up are Magnum series. The 71-73 models used a different rear main bearing and seal but not sure what the diff. is. The real early blocks were thick walled units that were basically a 340 not bored out as much. There's alot of hear-say on this matter as to what year they ended the thick wall units but I'd say if your looking for a block to bore over more than .030 you need a 71 or 72 unit. 73 thick wall units are very iffy as to their existance. The 86 on up blocks are roller cam engines so that's a plus if you want to run a roller cam.

As to your question about what is the best year. I guess the early thick wall ones would be the best but good luck finding one and you better get a 71 or 72 to make sure it's really a thick wall unit.

Check cordobas trucks vans diplomats gran furys and old cop cars they are plentiful