4.7 V8 swap?

-
I found out they can't be bored out the hard way. Snapped a rod in an 01 grand cherokee with 150K off-roading. Had to replace the motor.

I used to be a Chrysler/Jeep light-line tech before I went back to school, we had a 4.7 grand cherokee that once or twice a year it would come in for loosing coolant without any signs (leaks or coolant in oil) come to find out 3 years old, the motor was so well machined that from the factory they forgot to install a right side head gasket and the motor had no compression loss or vacuum leaks. Only the coolant would eventually make it to the exhaust port and evaporate off. Pretty cool lil motor, i'd love to do one If I had one, who says you need aftermarket parts, cool 4 speed od trans v8 cruiser would be nice. Dependable and very drivable!

They are a great little motor. I had one in my 2002 Ram, and now one in my 2007 Dakota. The current one makes a little over 200RWHP on the dyno with a few bolt on mods (ported TB, true dual exhaust, CAI, Superchips) and gets 25mpg on road trips. Fylwheel HP should be about 260 (rated 220hp as a flex fuel motor).

While it is not a "powerful" motor, it would be interesting to put it in a small Dart 2 dr. with a nice 5 or 6 spd behind it....the 4.7 just loves to rev. The biggest issue I see is that the 4.7 is a tall motor being OHC. It might not fit under the hood of car.

Interesting note: Startech in Germany built a stroker version around 2000 to put in their Jeeps. It was a 5.5L that made 285hp and 358 ft/lbs of torque (back when the 4.7 was 220hp/290 ft/lbs in Europe).

Just imagine if you took the 08-up 4.7 and worked it in to a 5.5L?

i don't get it! i came here to read about "new hemi hemi swaps" instead we are having a "general discussion" about "smallblock tech"

Well, that WAS the title of the thread.