68 4-door "Sleeper"

-

4door68

Reaction score
I have been "lurking" on this site for a while. I found this site after buying a 68 Dart 4 door.

Why a 4 door? My first car was a 68 Dart 4 door with the slant six 225. I bought the car in 1984 for $500 (the car was 16 years old at the time). I figured it would last for a year and then I would get something else. I ended up having it for 5 years!!

After I graduated college from the University of Florida (Go Gators), I was offered a job in Chattanooga and, I had 3 cars... a Honda Civic, a Dodge Ramcharger and my trusty 68 Dart 4 door. Unfortunately, I had to leave one car behind. I ended up giving away the Dart to my neighbor who was going through some pretty hard times and needed reliable transportation.

Since then, I always missed my 4-door, slant six, 68 Dart.

I found this 4-door, slant six Dart on Ebay for $1,600 and bought it. My "original" plan was to do a restoration. Now, after having looked through this forum, I have decided to make a "resto-mod" car.

The "new" plan is to make it into a "sleeper". I will restore the body and interior as closely as possible to original. But, under the hood, will be a 5.7 hemi from a wrecked 2003 truck (with only 28,000 miles).

I will be showing my progress with this thread. However, don't expect frequent updates as I only have about 10 hours a week to work on it.

dart09.jpg

dart06.jpg

dart07.jpg

dart08.jpg

hemi.jpg

Nice seeing another "More Doors" '68 on here. Cool idea making it into a sleeper with a hemi under the hood.

dart 2.jpg

Sweet idea! I will definitely be watching this thread. I always thought it would be neat to do something similar to that.

Nice seeing another "More Doors" '68 on here. Cool idea making it into a sleeper with a hemi under the hood.
I will be pulling the engine in the next few weeks. I am waiting for my engine hoist (cherry picker) to come in. You can have the header. Just pay for the shipping.