71 scamp

-

scamper383

Reaction score
So when i bought this scamp i was happy with the 383 that was in it but now that i know wat 650hp on motor feels like on the street in a chevelle 454 i want some hp for my scamp it came factory with a /6 and 727 and 8-3/4 rear open diff and im not sure on wat way to go with this build im new to mopar i was all chevrolet until i met ed miller and he showed me this car he stuck this motor in i don't want 650hp but something over stock without going bottom end honestly so does any one have 2 cents for me. thanks for your help Seth

You can install a not too crazy cam & bolt-ons, gears & some stall, this will wake it up nicely.

yea but wat size cam i have a bunch of 750 holleys laying around to use and would like to use one of them. How do you determine wat stall you want to run? wat makes that stall speed work good with the motor is it based off of power band or red line or crusing rpm i dont have alot of experience in transmissions.

What gears are in the rear? Most slants had 2.76 gearing, not going to be very impressive even with a big block. What are the specs on the 383? Is it a magnum or just a 2 BBL motor somebody swapped intake on? What is the rest of the engine and drivetrain combo?

What are your goals, I'm sure someone installed the 8.3/4, do you have any idea what gears are in it? I've heard good things about the Hughes Engines "Whiplash" cams, they work really well for lower compression engines, plus they sounds great, I'd get there imput on a cam/converter/gear set-up, A 750dp should work really good on a 383, What intake you running? Heres the cam with sound clip, may need there springs too.

http://www.hughesengines.com/Index/...V2hpcGxhc2ggTXVzY2xlIENhciBDYW1z&partid=25115
http://www.ptcrace.com/street-strip....html?osCsid=1ec6f63e56ca6c1cf49d32292fdd8ed6

This is how i would set it up if it were mine.

Whiplash cam.
SD intake, 2nd. choice RPM
750dp
MP distributor & chrome ECU