74 dart swinger cranks but no start

-

Gunner213

Reaction score
Hello everyone, this is my first time owning a classic mopar and since the day ive had id ive had issues with it. Bought it back in may 2022 and have been "daily driving" it and havent had issues i couldn't solve but when it comes to electrical I'd rather just leave it to the people who know what they are doing. Anyways just last week i was switching out the alrernator to a 65amp one cause the other was already no good but didnt have any issues with the old alternator before. Weirdly enough though when i went to hook everything back up and start the car and no surprise it didnt kick over but I did hear the ignition "module whining"? It started smoking right after and I immediately went to disconnect it(there's a wire that hooks up to the battery and its what I disconnected to turn off the ignition module) (is there supposed to be such wire?). I did notice that the my 74 plug is a 5 pin and the module was a 4 pin, swapped it out for a 5pin module and still nothing. I've traced down a couple of wires in the engine bay that were in horrendous condition with fresh new ones (all done one wire at a time lol). Ive come across a few videos explaining how to diagnose this problem but no luck yet on my end. I know this year has the seatbelt interlock or whatever but its already been bypassed by the previous owner. Any in detailed help would be greatly appreciated.

I' having a hard time wrapping my head around this-
hook everything back up and start the car and no surprise it didnt kick over but I did hear the ignition "module whining"?
Is it cranking over, or not?
It started smoking right after and I immediately went to disconnect it(there's a wire that hooks up to the battery and its what I disconnected to turn off the ignition module) (is there supposed to be such wire?).
Need a pic.

65 Amp alternator feeding original wiring almost 50 years old?