8.75 Interchange

-

whitedawg

Reaction score
I know this has got to be old news but went back thru archive and couldnt find exactly what I was looking for besides after looking at a couple charts the numbers dont match.
Will the 8.75 from a mid 60's Barracuda fit the 73 Duster
Thanx

The housing itself is a bolt-in. Axles are still SBP.

Okay since Im new to A Bodies what are the difference/ pros and cons between the small bolt and big bolt pattern. If I use the Barracuda 8.75 will swapping the axels to BBP be feasible
Thanx

You either have to re-drill the drums and axles to the larger bolt pattern or get aftermarket axles. If you get aftermarket axles you may have to run green bearings and also change to the wider brakes.

the later disk brake cars are BBP big bolt pattern or 5 on 4 1/5 inches, there are a lot more wheel options available in this size, the early drum brake and kelsey hayes 4 piston disk brake cars were SBP small bolt pattern 5 on 4 inches
there are much fewer wheel options in this size, BBP axles are available for an 8 3/4 rear and you can use C-body drums and backing plates and the later BBP disk brakes are easier to get parts for

As far as I'm concerned the only disadvantage to using the 4" bolt circle is your choice of wheels is limited to 3 or 4. But since I like Cragar SS's and you can still get them in 4" I'm not about to change.

Okay since Im new to A Bodies what are the difference/ pros and cons between the small bolt and big bolt pattern. If I use the Barracuda 8.75 will swapping the axels to BBP be feasible
Thanx